SEO tools with a free trial compared, on exactly what each vendor says the trial includes

Three things decide whether a trial is any use: how long it runs, whether it takes a card, and what it caps. All three are published, they differ a lot, and one major vendor publishes no trial at all and gives you something better instead.

Published by AI Knows Us · Updated 22 October 2026

The criterion on this page, applied to everybody including us. A trial is worth something if it is long enough to answer one real question, costs nothing if you forget to cancel, and does not cap the exact feature you came to test. Rank on those three published terms. Nothing else about a trial is checkable in advance.

What each vendor publishes about its trial, read 21 October 2026

VendorLengthCard required?What the trial caps, in the vendor's own words
SE Ranking"Start free 14-day trial""No credit card required"The FAQ says it "is fully functional and includes starter usage", then publishes the caps: 10 projects, 750 tracked keywords per day, 20 AI prompts per day and "AI competitive research for 3 domains". That is the most complete trial disclosure on this page.
Frase"Free 7-day trial""No credit card"The FAQ states it carries the Professional feature set capped at 5 articles, 50 audit pages, 25 AI prompts and up to 3 seats, and that you can turn on agent auto-publishing for one content type during the trial. Caps published to the item.
Semrush"Try Semrush free for seven days. Cancel anytime."Not stated for the trial. Its separate free plan is explicit: "For trying out the platform. No credit card required."The trial's caps are not published on the pricing page. The free plan's are: "1 demo project" and "10 reports per day across all vital tools".
UbersuggestThe FAQ mentions "a one-time 7-day free trial for monthly subscriptions".Not stated.Not published. The FAQ also says you can "downgrade to a free account at any time" without stating what the free account allows.
AhrefsNone. Its pricing page uses neither the words free trial nor refund anywhere.Not applicable.It publishes a permanent plan instead, "Ahrefs Free", described as "Get Ahrefs data on your site and fix what matters". The boundary is stated in those last four words: your site, not anybody else's.
Screaming FrogNot a trial. A permanently free version.No."The free version is restricted to crawling up to 500 URLs in a single crawl". For a site under 500 URLs the free version is the whole site, indefinitely.
MozCould not be read. moz.com would not serve this machine at all on 21 October 2026, so no Moz trial term appears on this page.UnverifiedUnverified, therefore unquoted. That is a measurement failure rather than a verdict on the vendor.

So the ranking, on the stated criterion

SE Ranking first. Fourteen days is twice the field, no card is required, and it publishes four separate caps so you know before starting whether the trial can answer your question. All three parts of the criterion, in numbers, on the page a buyer reads.

Frase second. Seven days and no card, with the caps published to the item, which is more disclosure than vendors twice its size manage.

Ahrefs third, and first if you reread the criterion. It publishes no trial at all, which on a page about trials sounds like last place, and a permanent free tier is strictly better than a seven day countdown for the question most people are actually asking. We rank it third because this page is about trials and first because that is the honest reading, and we would rather say both than pick the tidier one.

Screaming Frog is outside the ranking and is the best offer on this page for anybody with a small site. A free version with a published 500 URL ceiling and no expiry is not a trial; it is a tool.

Semrush and Ubersuggest are not ranked, because neither publishes what its trial caps. Both publish excellent limit disclosure for their paid tiers and neither extends it to the trial, which is the one place a buyer is making a decision under time pressure.

How to spend a trial, in five steps

One. Write the question down before you sign up. One question, in a sentence. "Which of my product templates is not indexed" is a question. "Evaluate the tool" is not.

Two. Check the cap against the question first. A trial capped at 50 audit pages cannot audit a 4,000 page site, and finding that out on day four wastes the trial.

Three. Export something on day one. If the data you need cannot leave the tool, the subscription will have the same problem and you have learned the most important thing immediately.

Four. Set a calendar reminder for one day before it ends, even where no card was required, because the trial becoming a paid plan is the default on several of these.

Five. Answer the question, then stop. A trial spent exploring tells you how the interface feels. A trial spent on one question tells you whether to buy.

Two cautions about checking any of this yourself

Vendor pages decline requests for reasons that have nothing to do with the vendor. On 21 October 2026, from one machine in one afternoon: moz.com would not serve us at all, seoptimer.com returned 403, neilpatel.com/pricing returned 403 while app.neilpatel.com/en/pricing returned a 301 to ubersuggest.com/en/pricing which served normally, seranking.com returned 404 on one pricing path and 200 on another in the same minute, and four separate eBay seller-centre paths returned 404 or an error page. A failed fetch is never evidence that a claim is false.

And a price you fetch may be local to the fetch rather than to you. Quote the limit, which does not move with geography, rather than the number on the button.

What no trial on this page lets you test, and the honest position on our own

Every tool above measures a search engine. The surface none of them reads is the one where the answer is written rather than retrieved: ChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity, Claude and Google AI Overviews name some businesses and not others when a buyer asks who to use, and nothing is stored for a crawler to find.

AI Knows Us sells that one measurement and nothing else, and we are not in the ranking above for a reason that belongs on this page more than on any other: we publish no free trial and no free tier. Every vendor in the table beats us on the question this page is about, and a page that ranked us anywhere on it would be wrong. From the rendered text of our pricing page, read 21 October 2026: "One credit is one buyer question, asked on one AI app, once", "Most checks use one credit", "A Claude check uses 3, because Claude costs us more to run". From our llms.txt the same day: SEO Start at $149 a month watches 0 buyer questions, 0 credits and 0 engines, so it is a demand-harvest tier rather than an engine watch, and Growth at $299 with 100 buyer questions and 1,200 scheduled answers is the cheapest plan that reads all five surfaces.

And if you want to try this category without paying anybody, three of the vendors above sell a prompt allowance inside a trial you can start free today: SE Ranking's fourteen days include 20 AI prompts a day, Frase's seven include 25 AI prompts, and Semrush's free plan lists "AI Visibility features" with no number attached. Take one of those first. Bing Webmaster Tools also reports your own Copilot citation data free, and Copilot is a surface we do not read at all.

For the paid version of the same question, where the limit rather than the trial sets each tier: SEO platforms, programs and software compared, ranked on the limit that sets each tier. On 21 October 2026 we read 2,411 page bodies on this site against 2,325 live pages and 971 of them, 41.8 percent, carried no inbound link from any body we could read, which is an upper bound rather than a count. We measured that target specifically: no other page on this site links to that one.

Questions about SEO tool free trials

Is a seven day trial long enough?

For one question, yes. For a site migration decision, no, and that is what the fourteen day trials are for.

Why do some vendors want a card for a free trial?

Because conversion is higher when cancelling takes an action. It is not sinister and it does mean the reminder matters.

Can I trial the same tool twice?

Usually not. Ubersuggest publishes that its trial is "one-time", and most vendors tie it to the account or the card.

Is a free tier better than a trial?

For learning a tool, almost always, because there is no clock. For testing scale, almost never, because the free tier is capped exactly where the interesting work starts.

Read next

Simon-Kucher pricing strategy, what the firm publishes about its own method and what a Singapore buyer should ask before briefing itThe firm publishes its approach, its scale and four named service lines, and publishes no fee, so the useful work before any call is reading what it claims and deciding which decision you are buying.International pricing strategies for a Singapore company, and the corridor that stops one market undercutting anotherA converted home price is the one answer that is almost always wrong, so set a price per market and keep the gaps narrower than the cost of moving a unit between them.Premium pricing strategy for a Singapore business, and the fence that makes the higher number holdCharging permanently more than the credible alternatives works when the buyer can name what the extra money buys, and the published Singapore writing ladder shows exactly how that is built.Red Antler publishes no price, so here is what its own site does publish and how to cost the same scope from SingaporeRead on 29 October 2026, three pages of redantler.com carry a complete deliverable list, three business stages and not one figure about what any of it costs.Hiring a full service content agency, the five stages a retainer has to cover and the two handoffs where the money leaksMost content retainers buy production and quietly leave strategy and distribution with you, so price the stages rather than the word count.Hiring a branding agency for a Singapore financial services firm, and the three registers to search before you fall in love with a nameIdentity work for a licensed firm starts with a clearance search rather than a mood board, and two of the three registers are free to read in a browser today.

Or browse the whole archive.

See what AI says about you.

The first scan is free, it needs no account, and it asks the questions your buyers ask.

Free. No card. We ask 5 real buyer questions on 2 AI apps.

Already sure you want this? Start free. No card needed, and the free plan stays free. Pay only when you want the work done. Or talk to a person if you have a question first. Or read how we fix what it finds.